Sensors and Systems
Breaking News
BlackSky Announces Next Generation Dual Payload Satellite Architecture to Deliver High Resolution and Nighttime Imaging Capabilities
Rating12345HERNDON, Va.- BlackSky, a leading provider of global monitoring...
Draganfly Selected as Sole Provider of Smart Vital Sign and Social Distancing Equipment
Rating12345Los Angeles, California – Draganfly Inc. (OTCQB: DFLYF) (CSE:...
Esri and AfroChampions Launch Partnership to Promote GIS in Africa
Rating12345Redlands, Calif., United States:  Esri, the global leader in location...

June 15th, 2008
IISD Board of Directors to Shape New Strategic Plan

  • Rating12345

PR – International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD) international board of directors
is meeting in Winnipeg this week to shape a new strategic plan for the
organization as it tackles urgent and pressing environmental issues
across the globe

The two-day meeting kicked off today with the appointment of five new members to the board, replacing James Carr, Angela Cropper and Charles Hantho,
who retire after many years of dedication, hard work and outstanding
commitment to sustainability and the vision and mission of IISD.

The new board members offer a wealth of sustainable development
experience in the fields of education, governance, business, technology
and investment.

"Patricia Moles-Rivero, Maureen O’Neil, Bruce Schlein, Vicky Sharpe and Emőke Szathmáry
are exceptional and talented leaders with a great deal to offer the
Institute as we work together to develop a strategic plan to tackle the
multi-faceted challenges for sustainable development," said IISD board
chair Dan Gagnier.

IISD president and CEO David Runnalls
said public interest in environmental issues has never been more acute,
as world looks for policy advice to deal with such issues as climate
change, the food crisis and other emerging and ongoing issues of major
importance. "There are so many important and urgent issues to address.
This board will have a critical role to play in setting priorities and
shaping the future direction of the institute."

With the addition of these new appointees, there are now 20 members
of the board, representing nine countries. IISD’s board of directors
meets twice a year.

New members of the board:

  • Patricia Moles-Rivero is Brazil country manager of
    Singapore-based chocolate manufacturing concern Petra Foods Pte. She is
    an expert on environmental planning, and international finance and
    management, and has extensive experience in developing financial
    instruments to support conservation, biodiversity and other sustainable
    development initiatives.

  • Maureen O’Neil is president of the International
    Development Research Centre. She is a member of the International Board
    of Governors of the Centre for International Governance Innovation
    (CIGI) and chair of the Advisory Council on Corporate Social
    Responsibility of Canada’s Export Development Corporation. She is also
    a Fellow of the School of Policy Studies of Queen’s University.

  • Bruce Schlein is vice president of Environmental
    Affairs for Citigroup where he advises on corporate environmental and
    social policies, business opportunities and footprint, and leads the
    environmental portfolio for the Citigroup Foundation. He has also
    served as sustainable development manager at Bechtel International.

  • Vicky J. Sharpe is president and CEO of Sustainable
    Development Technology Canada, a Government of Canada initiative to
    build a sustainable development technology infrastructure in Canada.
    Sharpe has served on numerous technology and industry association
    committees, in particular as an international advisor on sustainability

  • Emőke J.E. Szathmáry served 12 years as the
    president of the University of Manitoba (1996-2008). As president
    emeritus and professor, she is continuing her academic appointments in
    the Department of Anthropology as well as in the Department of
    Biochemistry and Medical Genetics. Szathmáry has published over 80
    articles and reviews, and she has co-edited three books. She is an
    elected Fellow of the Arctic Institute of North America (1989), the
    American Association for the Advancement of Science (1995) and the
    Royal Society of Canada (2005). She was appointed a member of the Order
    of Canada in 2003.

Retiring members of the board:

  • Jim Carr is founding president and CEO of the
    Business Council of Manitoba. He is a board member of the Canada West
    Foundation, a board member of the Winnipeg Airports Authority,
    vice-president of the Performing Arts Consortium of Winnipeg, and a
    director of the Manitoba Arts Stabilization Fund. An accomplished media
    correspondent, Carr served as deputy leader of the Manitoba Liberal
    Party until 1992 and was a member of the Meech Lake and Charlottetown
    Constitutional Task Forces.

  • Angela Cropper is assistant secretary-general and
    deputy executive director for the United Nations Environment Programme
    (UNEP). She is co-founder and president of The Cropper Foundation, a
    non-profit organization which contributes to public policy for
    sustainable development. Cropper’s many accomplishments include
    co-chairing the Assessment Panel of the Millennium Ecosystem
    Assessment; the board of trustees of the Centre for International
    Forestry Research, and was past member of the board of the Trinidad and
    Tobago Environmental Management Authority and trustee of its
    environment fund.

  • Chuck Hantho is chair of the board Hamilton
    Utilities Corporation. As chairman of the Canadian Chemical Producers
    Association (CCPA), he championed and introduced the "responsible care"
    program for the safe handling and use of chemicals from cradle to
    grave—which has since been copied around the world. In 1997, Hantho was
    awarded the Order of Canada and has been a member of the IISD board
    since 2002.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *